Lately I’ve been going back to the drawing board trying to find which marketing strategies I can do away with and which provide the most bang for the buck since I will soon be returning to full-time work but keeping all my freelance gigs as well. It has been somewhat rejuvenating going back to these tried and true methods and I figured I would share them with you all in hopes that they will help to revive your marketing techniques as well.

Going back to the basics can be helpful when struggling to refresh your marketing agenda. Those beginner bread and butter tasks that always yield results no matter what can shed light on what’s working and what isn’t. While reading, 10 Blogging Tips for Beginners and Experts by Joe Pulizzi of Junta42 Content Marketing, I was reminded of two powerful blog marketing tools: guest blogging and top 10 lists of influential people.

Guest Blogging

Guest Blogging is worth its weight in gold, it gets you a wider audience instantly and establishes rapport with other bloggers (i.e. you scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours). This can’t be undervalued because not only can guest blogging lead to media buying opportunities but it can also lead to future jobs, real life friendships, and more; I couldn’t agree more with Pulizzi’s statement that an opportunity to guest blog should never be turned down. Always keep at the forefront of your mind some of the top blogs in your genre and get busy contacting those bloggers with your post ideas.

I myself am currently guest blogging bi-weekly for How To Be A Redhead, you can read my posts here and be sure to check back for my next post on March 7, 2011.

Top 10 Lists of Influential People

Keep running tabs on top influencers within your topic/sphere, this helps you stay informed and aware of who is of note, but also affords the opportunity for linkbacks, cross marketing, and more. Social Media Salon itself began as a catalog of influential entrepreneurs and social media marketing business professionals and that will remain the focus of the site as it grows.

If you want to quickly and legitimately increase traffic to your site and network online, set up a blog post consisting of the top 10 or 20 influential people in your given genre, then notify each person on the list. Check out Pulizzi’s article for more specific tips on how to make a top 10 list work for you.

